ARAC Board

The function of the ARAC Board is to serve as a panel for the review of grant applications and to facilitate arts development in the Arrowhead Region.  ARAC recruits board members through an open nominations process.  Council members must reside in one of the seven counties in the Arrowhead Region: Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis. Sitting ARAC members elect a board of thirteen individuals: one member who resides in each of the seven counties served by ARAC, one member representing Duluth, four at-large members appointed to provide a balance in specific disciplines or art forms not currently represented on the Council, and a university student liaison member.

ARAC members are chosen for their knowledge, expertise, and involvement in the arts. For more information on how you can become a member of the ARAC Board, visit our Become a Board Member page.

Board Member Login

Board Meeting Dates Open to the Public
All board meeting dates are open to the public unless otherwise stated. Meetings are held electronically. To receive login information please email
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020
Thursday, January 21, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021
Thursday, March 18, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021

Current ARAC Board

Tara Makinen, Chair
Itasca County
Emily Swanson
Carlton County
Roxann Berglund
At-Large: Grand Marais
Bill Payne
At-Large: Duluth
Kathy Neff, Vice Chair
Music/Arts Education
Kris Nelson
At-Large: Cloquet
Dance/Visual Arts
Tammy Mattonen, Treasurer
At-Large: Hibbing
Visual Arts/Music
Ron Piercy
Cook County
Visual Arts